The Planet Earth Games is a new concept set to be launched in 2019 building on a rich heritage of community youth sport stretching back 20 years. The Devon Youth Games was launched in 1999 bringing together district teams representing local authorities from across the county in a multi-sport competition.

Similar county-wide events were held across England in 1999, many have since fallen away in the intervening years, but Devon's not only survived, but thrived. In 2016, the event broadened into the South West Youth Games to include Cornwall teams and competitors. 

By 2018, the Games had grown beyond one multi-sport finals into five region-wide events – the biggest programme in the Games’ history. With 3819 participants, including 38% not members of clubs - almost 1000 of those young people went on to join their a local club after the Games, confirming the Games as a catalyst for community activity.

Looking ahead, the Games is widening its remit to the environment through the Planet Earth Games, not only helping engage more young people into regular activity, but educating young people and their families on best environmental practice to set a pathway to a sustainable future.



1999 – Devon Youth Games launched

2005 - Olympic equestrian medallist Mary King attends the Games

2014 – Loss of Lottery funding, the Devon Youth Games are under threat

2015 – Rotary support helps revive the Games

2016 – South West Youth Games Trust created as a charity responsible for delivering the Games

2017 – The Street Sports programme launched with finals taking place at Mount Hawke, near Truro

2017 – The Trust employs its first ever Chief Executive, Chris Broadbent

2018 – Skipathon launched

2018 – The Games are opened to independent teams and individuals to enter the Games outside of the area/local authority model via online entry

2019 - Planet Earth Games launching




1999 not awarded North Devon  
2000 not awarded Exeter & Teignbridge  
2001 Plymouth West Devon  
2002 Teignbridge South Hams  
2003 Plymouth Teignbridge  
2004 Plymouth North Devon North Devon 
2005 Plymouth West Devon Teignbridge 
2006     Mid Devon 
2007     West Devon 
2008 Plymouth    Plymouth 
2009     North Devon 
2010 West Devon  North Devon  West Devon 
2011     Exeter 
2012 Mid Devon  Exeter & East Devon  West Devon 
2013 Teignbridge  Exeter & East Devon Torbay 
2014 Teignbridge  West Devon  Exeter 
2015 Teignbridge  Torbay  Torbay 
2016 West Devon    Okehampton 
2017 West Devon West Devon Okehampton
2018 Teignbridge  Exeter Dawlish

Brought to
You By